Finding naturist friends

One of the main hurdles many newbie naturists have to surmount is: how to find compatible people to be friends with who are also naturists themselves – or potential naturists.

For people with good to great social skills, this may not be a problem. Or perhaps even in that case it is, because there aren’t that many people in our society who have a favorable opinion of nonsexual social nudity. And of those who do, many are afraid to be open about it, for a variety of reasons. So it can be risky at times to approach people you already know – relatives, friends, or acquaintances – with the idea of sharing an interest in naturism.

This process is somewhat easier online, because there are things like Facebook, Twitter, and other online things (friend-finder sites, naturist-friendly social networks, blogs, discussion forums, mailing lists, etc.) where long-time and newbie naturists gather to “meet” each other and become better acquainted.

But let’s face it. Having online naturist friends scattered around the world is all well and good. However, what you really want are people who enjoy social nudity and also live relatively nearby, so you can enjoy nudity together, at home parties, outdoor recreational locations, and commercial naturist parks or resorts. Or just getting together casually naked in the backyard to enjoy a barbeque and an evening in or around the swimming pool or spa.

I could offer suggestions on how to approach the challenge of finding naturist friends. But one naturist newbie has figured it all out, and says it very well:

Last year I was an single old straight white guy. Then I discovered nakedness. … My textile friends I knew would not approve so I figured I should get some naked friends to share my happy bareness with. I set off with a desire to make naked friends, I began to blog here, I signed up for naked Meetup groups, I joined an active naked online (NOOK) group, I advertised for naked friends on Craigslist, I approached naked people I met in naked situations and began conversations. I read lots to learn the culture and ethos of nakedness. I knew that simple nakedness felt good, I heard that nudists were accepting and inclusive, and so, I became accepting, inclusive and non judgmental myself. I made friends with naked straight men and women, I’ve made friends with naked gay men, naked gay women, and naked bisexuals as well with people that are not naked but interested enough to follow this adventure.

It worked. Just try what Happy Bare did. It’s not rocket science.

This entry was posted in General naturism, Promoting naturism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Finding naturist friends

  1. Happy Bare says:

    Thanks for finding my post relevant and timely.

  2. pipermac5 says:

    What I have found is that nudists/naturists are just as private as textiles. Friendships made inside the confines of a nudist resort don’t translate into friendships otherwise, and it really is no different than the relationships I have with my church friends. Everyone is friendly inside those four walls, but there is very little interaction otherwise. “Out-of-sight” truly does translate to “out-of-mind”.

    Several moths ago, I met a family at my favorite nudist resort, and they invited me to visit them in their home when I am in the area, so we exchanged phone numbers. An hour or so later, I texted him expressing my delight in making their acquaintance, but he never responded to my message. Needless to say, if he couldn’t be bothered to respond to my first message, I am not going to try to make contact again. I also haven’t seen them there since.

    Perhaps part of that has to do with the fact that I am a married-single…legally-married, but with no resident wife, so I don’t fit in with married couples, nor do I fit in with singles. Relationship wise, this is one of the worst “no-man’s-land” I have ever experienced.

    • Leo says:

      I can totally relate to the friend thing pipermac5 talks about. I am still talking to everyone, but don’t expect anything anymore. I guess we don’t really fit in, because others do visit each other and we know most of them about 15 years already. As a result, I can’t bother why, anymore. Just taking it as it comes….

  3. Happy Bare says:

    I too am like pipermac5 and Leo, but I’m just looking for naked people to do naked things with.

  4. Cillendor says:

    I’m a bit out of luck in this regard. I discovered naturism in college, though I mostly just practiced in my apartment. But now that I’ve graduated, I’ve moved back home, and I am certain that my folks wouldn’t embrace my new-found lifestyle. Even if my family is completely out of the house, I can’t step outside. Our backyard has no privacy to keep the elderly neighbors from looking over, and we cut down the gnarly trees separating our house from the highway in order to plant evergreens. So in daylight, there is perfect visibility. I know the neighbors wouldn’t be happy with it.

    I’ve only talked about it with a few close friends: namely, my girlfriend, her sister, and her sister’s husband. The latter two predictably said no, never. My girlfriend was much more open-minded. But as we want to remain abstinent until marriage, we agreed not to try out nudity together until that time, just in case we might slip up.

    So in the meantime, I’m stuck at home with nowhere to be naked and no-one to join me. I can’t wait to move out.

    • Many would advise you that abstinence is a bad idea. But it’s your choice and your girlfriend’s. If it’s any help, you and your GF might consider trying nudity only at a popular nude beach or naturist resort in the daytime. With many people around, any non-abstinence will not be possible. What happens later is up to you. But the nonsexual atmosphere of the beach or resort may show you that sex isn’t the inevitable outcome of nudity.

  5. Jim says:

    This is kind of off subject but speaking of beaches, Mazo Beach, one of the few remaining clothing-optional inland beaches in the U.S., might become clothing mandatory soon.
    I just completed the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources (DNR) survey and urge everyone to do the same. They’re more likely to disregard surveys from people far away so I simply changed my zip code to that of Waukegan, IL.
    Those who are unfamiliar with the place will need some background info & the URL which is on here: http://academicnaturist.blogspot.com/2014/06/mazo-beach-nac-alert.html

    Sorry if this seems like spam (just don’t approve it) but if some of us don’t take action eventually there’ll be nothing left!

    • This is an important issue for naturists. Unfortunately, it seems like petitions and surveys hardly ever make a difference in protecting naturist beaches. It just doesn’t happen. Often, even appearing in person at public hearings doesn’t make a difference. Consequently, it’s very questionable how responses from people who aren’t local can help. How much tourist business is there in Wisconsin from people in New York, Florida, or California?

      The only possibly effective strategy is for regular Mazo Beach users to become directly engaged in lobbying – phone calls and even in person visits to public officials. And also to devise plans in conjunction with the DNR to help ameliorate the problems that allegedly exist at the beach. It really is mostly on the shoulders of the local users to lead the effort. They have the most to gain — or lose. Same applies to other naturist spots everywhere, especially when national organizations are as weak as they are in the U. S.

      This is also relevant to the issue of finding naturist friends. A group effort is a great way to find friends. Groups are also more effective than unconnected individuals, since group members – who are friends – can support and encourage each other.

Leave a Reply

